top of page

Moving Across Country


 

Hey Guys!

If you are reading this post then first off thank you, and second... I'm terribly sorry you have to move across country. It is not fun. My husband is in the Military and so our family moves quite frequently; and well, our last move was 3,000 miles across the United States so I have been there done that. Hopefully, these tips and tricks for moving across state or in general can help your move go much smoother than mine was.


If you are a military family needing some help then I advise you to talk with your nearest travel department so they can help you. Otherwise, just keep reading...just keep reading that's what we do we read... #findingnemoreference #dory


Tip #1: Totes

If your family moves often then my first tip or suggestion would be to invest in the plastic totes. They will ultimately save you money on boxes in the future, are more sturdy, provide greater protection for your valuables, and can hold more than a box. Another benefit to using totes is that when you find yourself in a permanent residence then you have them for storing your numerous seasonal knickknacks and gadgets. I suggest if you use the tote method to purchase painters tape or easy to remove tape to label your totes so you can change the labels in future moves if needs be.


Tip#2: Cost & Budgeting

When moving it can get very expensive. However, when moving across country it is important for you to do some research to determine what will be more cost efficient for your budget and family needs. When I moved 3,000 miles from west to east coast I determined that it would be cheaper to hire a moving company and purchase a plane ticket then to do it myself. Here are some pros and cons to hiring others to move your belongings:

Pros: cons:

- No heavy lifting or packing on your part - Items can take 2-6 weeks to arrive

- save money on hotels, gas, and food - having to report to claims department if - less traveling and time for children items break or are misplaced.

- your belongings are insured with the movers - can be costly depending on company.

- What to do with your vehicles?

Here are some pros and cons if you were to move across country without using professional movers:

Pros: Cons:

- Your belongings arrive with you - Cost of gas, hotels, and food

- you can transport 1 car with you - items are not insured if broken

- the rental truck is cheaper - must have truck at destination within the - You pack your own belongings time limit given.

- traveling daily with children

Tip #3: Get Organized!

I personally think this is the most important tip I can give. When you organize your move day by day then you will get everything accomplished and feel less stressed as you do so. For example, when I moved 3,000 miles and was given my move in date, then I knew I had two weeks to get everything in order and packed before my movers came. I set up a date with the movers to come and collect my belongings and hired a car transporter for my vehicle as well (more cost efficient and no usage of my miles on my car). I had about 10 days to finish everything and I planned as follows:

day #1- Throw out/ donate any unwanted belongings such as clothes, canned foods, DVDs, etc.

day #2- pack the kitchen and use disposable cutlery.

day #3- Pack electronics, books, DVDS, and storage closet

day #4- pack clothing leaving 2-3 weeks of outfits out to be packed in suitcase at a later date.

day #5- pack valuables, toys, crafting items, and filing cabinet (I suggest making a binder with all important documents to carry with you throughout the move especially if you hire a moving company and by chance misplace your filing cabinet, then you will have all your important items with you.)


Hopefully by now you get the idea behind organizing your time and move. These are three simple tricks and tips I hope can help you during this long and stressful process. Check back soon for future moving updates and ideas!



21 views0 comments
bottom of page