top of page

Let's Get Thrifty!


 

If you are like me, then the idea behind spending more than $30 on an article of clothing is outrageous! I'm going to share with you my shopping bargains, deals, and tips so you can get more bang for you buck this year.


Tip #1: Clearance!

The first thing I do when I enter a store is head to the very back that is marked "Clearance". I used to work in retail for 5 years and I learned that the most recent and most expensive items are those placed at the front of the store. The farther back into the store the cheaper and greater the sales will be.



Tip#2: Going Out of Business!

When I shop, I make it a point to hit any stores marked "going out of business" or "everything must go!" because these stores will have HUGE discounts sometimes up to 80% off! You can find stores like this in almost every mall or even by googling and searching for local stores in your area that are going out of business.



Tip #3: Holidays!

Holidays are excellent times to go clothing shopping. This is when many stores will have sales on all their items and sometimes even additional sales on their clearance. The best sales usually come around Memorial Day, Thanksgiving, and Presidents Day. Websites like Amazon also have black Monday sales (usually the Monday after Thanksgiving) with great discounts on everyday items.


Tip #4: Electronic Couponing!

I know what you might be thinking...who wants to search through coupons and collect a bunch of paper just to save a buck or two? Well, finding coupons electronically can help save that time and hassle of cutting, and searching through paper coupons. Apps such as Ebates (click on my link to get started with Ebates: https://go.ebat.es/ItFtFxhcwU ) help customers find deals at the stores they love and provides cash back options as well. Just make sure when using those apps to read the fine print, because some couponing apps such as Ibotta charge you a fee if you don't use it after so long.



Tip #5: Go With a List!

Making a list of items you need whether it is a certain color, article of clothing, or pattern you love will help you save money and time. Often, it can get discouraging when you are in a store and there are so many different styles and options to choose from. I have found that when I go shopping with an idea of what my wardrobe is lacking then it takes the thought process and frustration out of shopping, and it opens up more variety to my closet in doing so. I also, save more money when I have a list or idea of what I want, because then I am not trying on everything in the store and wanting to purchase it all, but rather the 1 or 2 items I actually came for.


Here are my 5 gold mines for how I shop. By using these tricks every time that I shop, I have been able to get an average of 3-5 new outfits for all under $100. I love a good bargain and I know these tips work and save me SOOO much money!! Let me know in the forum if these tips worked for you!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page